LloydBorrett

Moving Waypoints to Lowrance HDS-7

2 posts in this topic

G'day,

I'm a newbie on this forum, plus with using my Lowrance HDS-7 GPS chartplotter, so please forgive me if the solution I'm seeking is somewhere on the forum already and I just haven't found it.

I've just purchased a dive boat that came with a Lowrance HDS-7 GPS Chartplotter, an SD card loaded with my local Navionics Platinum+ XL Charts, a Navionics Multi-Card Reader, plus the NavigationPLANNER 5.03 software.

I have a number of friends with dive boats using Garmin GPS units. They load their waypoints from their GPS units, edit them, save them as GPX files, and transfer the updates back to their GPS units using EasyGPS.

So I thought I could get the GPX files from my friends, collate them together using EasyGPS, and save them to the Navionics SD card as a USR file and thus have the waypoints available on my Lowrance HDS-7. But EasyGPS won't let me specify I have a Lowrance HDS-7. And I can't work out how to save the waypoints in the USR file format using EasyGPS.

To further complicate things, NavigationPLANNER says it supports Lowrance Combined Rte/Wp files (*.usr), plus Lowrance HDS Combined Rte/Wp files (*.usr), as if it's handling two different types of USR file.

In some blogs posts it is indicated that a USR format file can be created from ExpertGPS. So I purchased ExpertGPS figuring the more comprehensive paid program would support the additional file formats I needed. But I can't work out how to save a USR file given that ExpertGPS also says it won't support a Lowrance HDS-7.

So can someone please guide me as to how I can get the waypoints in GPX files produced by ExpertGPS onto a Lowrance HDS-7 chartplotter?

Of course, then the next problem to solve would be how to get the waypoints in a USR file on the Lowrance HDS-7, back into ExpertGPS.

Best Regards, Lloyd Borrett.

G'day,

Are there any plans for ExpertGPS to fully support the Lowrance USR4 file format used by the HDS-7?